The Last Star by Rick Yancey: BOOK REVIEW

16131489

THE DETAILS:

Book: The Last Star

Authors: Rick Yancey

Pages: 338

Reading Format: Physical & Audiobook

Read: 30th July, 2017

Rating: 2/5 Stars


GOODREADS SUMMARY:

The Last Star is the heart-stopping finale to the bestselling 5th Wave series by award-winning author, Rick Yancey. Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games, Divergent and The Maze Runner.

‘Wildly entertaining . . . I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough’ The New York Times

We’re here, then we’re gone, and that was true before they came. That’s always been true. The Others didn’t invent death; they just perfected it. Gave death a face to put back in our face, because they knew that was the only way to crush us. It won’t end on any continent or ocean, no mountain or plain, jungle or desert. It will end where it began, where it had been from the beginning, on the battlefield of the last beating human heart.

Master storyteller Rick Yancey invokes triumph, loss, and unrelenting action as the fate of the planet is decided in the conclusion to this epic series.


REVIEW:

Plot: 2/5

Characters: 2.5/5

Writing: 2/5

“Love is forever. If it wasn’t, it wouldn’t be love. The world is beautiful. If it wasn’t, it wouldn’t be the world.”

Oh my. I have no idea what happened to this series. Book one was so fantastic, book two was just completely boring and pointless because nothing happened, and this one.. idk.

I’m confused as to whether it’s my fault that I fell out of love with this series, considering I read the first book 3-4 years ago. But looking at some other peoples reviews and opinions, maybe it really did just go downhill.

“It’s always been this way…We bear the unbearable. We endure the unendurable. We do what must be done until we ourselves are undone.”

I ended up completely losing interest in the storyline, or lack of, as well as the characters.
This really disappoints me as I really did loveee the first book!

I honestly don’t think I could’ve got through the rest of this book if I didn’t use a free audible trial and listen to the audiobook!

I feel as if I only read it to satisfy my internal *must finish all the things I’ve started* voice that drives me nuts, hahaha.

“Some things down to the smallest of things, are worth the sum of all things”

Anyway, it’s not all hard feelings with this book, I did enjoy certain parts of it, however I still didn’t really pay attention fully, it just didn’t hold my interest.

I think I may reread all 3 books back-to-back in the future to determine if I still think the same about it when I read the sequels with a refresher of the first book.

“Pain is necessary. Pain is life. Without pain there can be no joy.”

Sorry this is such a downer of a review, but hey, I’d rather be honest than lie and say I loved it when I didn’t.

Let me know in the comments what you thought of this series! Do you feel the same as me, or did you enjoy it?

That’s all,

Kate :)

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “The Last Star by Rick Yancey: BOOK REVIEW

  1. We stumbled over here by a different website and thought I should check things out.
    I like what I see so i am just following you. Look forward to finding out
    about your web page yet again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s