City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare – BOOK REVIEW

Cassandra_Clare_City_of_Heavenly_Fire_book_cover

THE DETAILS:

Book: City of Heavenly Fire

Authors: Cassandra Clare

Pages: 638

Reading Format: Physical

Read: 25th June, 2017

Rating: 4/5 Stars


GOODREADS SUMMARY:

Darkness returns to the Shadowhunter world. As their society falls apart around them, Clary, Jace, Simon, and their friends must band together to fight the greatest evil the Nephilim have ever faced: Clary’s own brother. Nothing in the world can defeat him—must they journey to another world to find the chance? Lives will be lost, love sacrificed, and the whole world change in the sixth and last installment of the Mortal Instruments series!


REVIEW:

Plot: 4/5

Characters: 5/5

Writing: 5/5

“We are all the pieces of what we remember. We hold in ourselves the hopes and fears of those who love us. As long as there is love and memory, there is no true loss.”

{I finished this book at 2am, so bare with me if this review is a little all over the place!}

City of Heavenly Fire, omg I have finally finished The Mortal Instruments series, after years! I kind of actually cant believe it, haha!

I started this series when I was 15, now that is crazy to think about!

“Clary,” Jocelyn said. “I want you to meet Tessa Gray.”

Looking back at my reviews of the first few books I realised (and remembered) how much trouble I had with connecting to the characters. But in the last 3 books, I absolutely fell in love with the characters! They are now some of my favourites ever, and I won’t be forgetting them anytime soon.

At first, I really disliked Clary, she was just so whiny and annoying, but her character development was amazing. She really grew up throughout the series, and became who she truly is.

Jace also annoyed me at the beginning of the series (much less than Clary, though), however after the whole Sebastian ordeal, he also really changed his mind set and become so strong.

As for Izzy, Simon, Alec and Magnus, I just love them to bits, and they were brilliant characters throughout the whole series. I’m so glad we got to see more of them towards the end of the series.

“Alec looked down at the shattered pieces in disbelief. “You BROKE my PHONE.”
Jace shrugged. “Guys don’t let other guys keep calling other guys. Okay, that came out wrong. Friends don’t let friends keep calling their exes and hanging up. Seriously. You have to stop.”

This was a really good ending to the series, I really enjoyed how it wrapped up, and where our characters left off.

Although I found some parts of this book to lag a little, that was probably because I just wanted to finish it so badly! I definitely did not love it as much as Lost Souls, but it was still fantastic!

Also, the Tessa cameo, ahhh, I lived for that!

It honestly amazes me how Cassandra Clare’s books all fit together in this world that she created! Authors are truly brilliant in what they have the ability to come up with.

“There are memories that time does not erase… Forever does not make loss forgettable, only bearable.”

Order of TMI books from fav to least fav:

  1. City of Lost Souls
  2. City of Fallen Angels
  3. City of Heavenly Fire
  4. City of Glass
  5. City of Ashes
  6. City of Bones

That’s all,

Kate :)

One thought on “City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare – BOOK REVIEW

Leave a Reply

