Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher: BOOK REVIEW

thirteen-reasons-why

THE DETAILS:

Book: Thirteen Reasons Why

Authors: Jay Asher

Pages: 288

Reading Format: Kindle

Read:  5th June, 2017

Rating: 3/5 Stars


GOODREADS SUMMARY:

The only way to learn the secret . . . is to press play.

Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a strange package with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers several cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker—his classmate and crush—who committed suicide two weeks earlier. Hannah’s voice tells him that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he’ll find out why.

Clay spends the night crisscrossing his town with Hannah as his guide. He becomes a firsthand witness to Hannah’s pain, and as he follows Hannah’s recorded words throughout his town, what he discovers changes his life forever.


REVIEW:

Plot: 3/5

Characters: 3/5

Writing: 3.5/5

 “No one knows for certain how much impact they have on the lives of other people. Oftentimes, we have no clue. Yet we push it just the same.”

Sooooo yes bad me watched the TV show before reading the book… I’m not sure if I would’ve rather done it the other way around, but oh well. Haha

I feel as if I can’t truly decide what I think of this book, or judge it properly because I had the TV show in my head the entire time. Which did make for some great visuals, but intern made it really hard to see the book as a book. You know?

 “But you can’t get away from yourself. You can’t decide not to see yourself anymore. You can’t decide to turn off the noise in your head.”

Anyway, I quite enjoyed this book. It was ridiculously close to the TV show, showing that the program was a very faithful adaptation.

I love the concept (as sad as it is) of this novel because it is something that needs to be talked about, and it is done in a very unique and different way.

“You can’t go back to how things were. How you thought they were. All you really have is…now.”

I’m honestly struggling so bad right now to come up with things to write about the book, because the show is just stuck in my head, oops.

The characters were much more developed, and I felt a lot more for them, in the show as you would with 13 episodes compared to 288 pages… However, I did really enjoy Hannah and Clay in the book, especially.

“Everything…affects everything”

I’m sorry this review is pretty terrible because 1. I’m super tired and 2. I just really don’t have much to say without talking about the TV show the whole time.

Hopefully my next post shall be better! *cringes*

That’s all,

Kate :)

3 thoughts on “Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher: BOOK REVIEW

  1. I loved everything about this book, it’s just that I think Hannah and Clay can be too self absorbed at certain point. Out of 5, what’ your rating for the show? Cause I still don’t have the urge to watch it yet.

    Like

Leave a Reply

