Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas: BOOK REVIEW

heir-of-fire

THE DETAILS:

Book: Heir of Fire

Authors: Sarah J. Maas

Pages: 562

Reading Format: Physical

Read: 8th April, 2017

Rating: 4.75/5 Stars


GOODREADS SUMMARY:

Celaena has survived deadly contests and shattering heartbreak―but at an unspeakable cost. Now, she must travel to a new land to confront her darkest truth . . . a truth about her heritage that could change her life―and her future―forever.

Meanwhile, brutal and monstrous forces are gathering on the horizon, intent on enslaving her world. Will Celaena find the strength to not only fight her inner demons, but to take on the evil that is about to be unleashed?


REVIEW:

Plot: 4.8/5

Characters: 5/5

Writing: 4.8/5

“You cannot pick and choose what parts of her to love.”

Heir of Fire was so different from the first two books, and I loved it. There was a different ‘feel’ with this instalment, and I think a lot of that comes down to where the story took place, which if you’ve read it, you know what I’m talking about.

I’d say this is my favourite book of the series so far, followed by Crown of Midnight, and I hope they continue to get even better!

“...her dearest friends are characters in books.”

Heir of Fire kept me completely on edge, and wanting to know what would happen next with the turn of every new page. It was gripping, enthralling and downright crazy towards the end.

I loved how there were so many different perspectives in this book, even more so than the last two.

I think the only thing that slightly annoyed me about the novel was that I found some of ‘Manon’s’ chapters to lag a little, however some of her chapters were fantastic. I’m not quite sure how she fits into the story yet, but I’m guessing I’ll find out sooner or later, in the books to come.

“It would not take a monster to destroy a monster - but light, light to drive out darkness.”

Rowan. Can we say it again? Rowannnnn. He was such a fantastic character addition to the story. Although at times, he was rather hateful, I couldn’t get past how interesting and deep he was. I really hope we get to find out more about him, and that he’s even in the next books (please, and a lot of him, that would be great.)

Perhaps my favourite part of this book was actually the interactions, and growth between Celaena and Rowan. I loved, loved, loved reading about them together.

Celaena was, well theres no nice way to say this, she was basically wallowing in her pity for the entirety of the book, which would normally get annoying, but honestly I didn’t find it annoying. I think this is because I completely understood where she was coming from, and from reading the pervious two books, you really get a sense as to why she acts the way she does in this book, she’s basically just broken, and you can tell why. It’s not pointless pity, which occurs in other novels, but rather it added a lot of depth to her character, and ultimately led to where she is now.

There wasn’t a lot of Chaol and Dorian, I felt, in this book. I mean, they were definitely in it, but it just felt like a lot less than the other two instalments. However, Celaena’s whereabouts probably played a large roll in that. I didn’t mind it, and the last few chapters of theirs were sooo good, that I accepted the lack of them throughout the book as a comeback there.

“Because I am lost," she whispered onto the earth. "And I do not know the way.”

I’m so looking forward to continuing on with this series, and seeing where in the world it’s going to go from here. Also, yay for almost being caught up with everyone else in the world!

That’s all,

Kate :)

2 thoughts on “Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas: BOOK REVIEW

Leave a Reply

