The Bikini Body 28-Day Healthy Eating & Lifestyle Guide by Kayla Itsines: BOOK REVIEW

28day-cover_grande.png

THE DETAILS:

Book: The Bikini Body 28-Day Healthy Eating & Lifestyle Guide

Authors: Kayla Itsines

Pages: 394

Reading Format: Physical

Read: 4th April, 2017

Rating: 4/5 Stars


GOODREADS SUMMARY:

The body transformation phenomenon and #1 Instagram sensation’s first healthy eating and lifestyle book!

Millions of women follow Kayla Itsines and her Bikini Body Guide 28-minute workouts: energetic, kinetic, high-intensity interval training sessions that help women achieve healthy, strong bodies. Fans not only follow Kayla on Instagram, they pack stadiums for workout sessions with her, they’ve made her Sweat with Kayla app hit the top of the Apple App Store’s health and fitness charts, and they post amazing before and after progress shots. Kayla’s audience is avid and growing, with over 10 million followers worldwide.

The Bikini Body 28-Day Healthy Eating & Lifestyle Guide features:

– 200 recipes such as fresh fruit breakfast platters, smoothie bowls, and salads
– A 4-Week workout plan which includes Kayla’s signature 28-Minute workouts
– Full color food shots and photos featuring Kayla throughout


REVIEW:

At first, I wasn’t even going to rate this book, let alone review it, as it’s not a ‘real novel’ type book. Buttt with further thought I think I may have enough to say to write a review. So here we go. :’)

“Love yourself enough to live a healthy lifestyle"

To have a bit of backstory here, I picked up this book as I recently started doing Kayla Itsines’ BBG (or Bikini Body Guide), I know I hate that name too, but the context Kayla associates it with is great. It’s not about ganging the typical ‘bikini body’, it’s more about gaining confidence within yourself, and letting you be the bikini body, however you may look, rather than trying to obtain an unrealistic image, such as ones seen in magazines, etc.

I have been doing these guides for two and a half weeks now, and I’m really enjoying them. I have already seen some progress, and I’m so excited to continue to see what my body can do.

Along with this, I have adopted a much healthier lifestyle, not that I ate unhealthily before, but now, I feel a lot better with what I’m consuming. Being able to fuel my body for all those gruelling exercises (thanks, Kayla).

 

“Without simplicity, we cannot lead a flexible life, without the flexibility to accommodate real-world scenarios, we cannot be balanced. If we are not balanced, we will ultimately fall over"

Anyway, enough of that. Onto my thoughts about the book…

I really loved this book. It was enjoyable, educational and very visually appealing. Seriously, the images and colour schemes were some of the best parts of the book.

I’ve tagged a lot of recipes, and I’m so excited to give them a go (and attempt to increase my cooking skills… or maybe just gain any at all!)

My only slight issue with this book is that I found a lot of the recipes, particularly lunch and dinner, to be quite similar in terms of not having much variety. However, this could honestly just be because I am rather picky with food, another thing I’m hoping to change.

“Health is not the weight you lose, but the life you gain"

This is a book that I’ll be able to continue looking back on in the future, fuelling my mind with all the information about a healthy lifestyle that one could need. It was so educational to me, so interesting to learn about all things nutrition.

I recommend picking it up if you’re thinking about changing things in your life, maintaining a healthy lifestyle, want inspiration for recipes that encompass all times of the day, or simply if you’re a fan of Aussie girl Kayla.
Considering I’m also Australian, I can’t help but feel a little proud for all her amazing achievements in the fitness industry. You go girl!

That’s all,

Kate :)

Leave a Reply

