The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky: BOOK REVIEW

61t67xhl2cl-_sx321_bo1204203200_

THE DETAILS:

Book: The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Authors: Stephen Chbosky

Pages: 213

Reading Format: Kindle

Read: 17th February, 2017

Rating: 2.8/5 Stars


GOODREADS SUMMARY:

Read the cult-favorite coming of age story that takes a sometimes heartbreaking, often hysterical, and always honest look at high school in all its glory. Now a major motion picture starring Logan Lerman and Emma Watson, The Perks of Being a Wallflower is a funny, touching, and haunting modern classic.

The critically acclaimed debut novel from Stephen Chbosky, Perks follows observant “wallflower” Charlie as he charts a course through the strange world between adolescence and adulthood. First dates, family drama, and new friends. Sex, drugs, and The Rocky Horror Picture Show. Devastating loss, young love, and life on the fringes. Caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it, Charlie must learn to navigate those wild and poignant roller-coaster days known as growing up.

 


REVIEW:

Plot: 2.5/5

Characters: 2.8/5

Writing: 3/5

“We accept the love we think we deserve.”

This review is probably going to be my shortest review ever, and that mightttt be because I read this book days ago and forgot to write my review, oops. But, let’s try this.

The low rating is based a lot on enjoyment level in this case, because I felt like I both enjoyed and got annoyed at this book. There would be really great moments and then long stretches of, just kinda, boringness.

I truly think having seen the movie many years ago, that effected my view on the novel a lot, in terms of knowing what was going to happen, and having preconceived thoughts about the characters.

However, I also think the book was quite a lot different than the movie. I’m not sure if that’s because I haven’t watched the movie in so long, and I was much younger when I did watch it. Orrr simply because it actually was different. I’m really excited to be able to re-watch the movie now.

“So, this is my life. And I want you to know that I am both happy and sad and I'm still trying to figure out how that could be.”

The characters, I found were, ummm, less dimensional than I went into the book expecting them to be. I don’t know, I just feel like I didn’t really connect with the characters how I normally would in books, or how I wanted to. Even though I related to some of their feelings and issues, that still didn’t make me feel closer to them, unfortunately.

My feelings towards this book are very strange in a way because I both enjoyed it, and didn’t. I’d say maybe 40% / 60%, respectively.

“I would die for you. But I won't live for you.”

The writing, more so to do with all the wonderful quotes, and passages from this novel, were by farrrr the best parts! I highlighted so much, and definitely did feel enlightened and connected to Chbosky’s own thoughts that were so beautifully written down on the page.

If I could take one thing out of this book that I truly loved, it would definitely be the ‘quoteworthy’ aspect, but sadly, I didn’t really fully enjoy too much else.

That’s all,

Kate :)

2 thoughts on “The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky: BOOK REVIEW

Leave a Reply

