Harry Potter and the Cursed Child: BOOK REVIEW

Harry_Potter_and_the_Cursed_Child_Special_Rehearsal_Edition_Book_Cover.jpg
THE DETAILS:

Book: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Authors: John Tiffany, Jack Thorne and J.K. Rowling

Pages: 343

Read: 28th December, 2016

Rating: 3.5/5 Stars


GOODREADS SUMMARY:

Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.


REVIEW:

Plot: 3/5

Characters: 3.8/5

Writing: 4/5

“Those we love never truly leave us, Harry. There are things that death cannot touch.”

What a crazy, exhilarating ride this book was. Not to mention a great mixture of emotions.
Filled with action from start to finish, Cursed Child welcomed new characters, and allowed us to fall in love all over again with the ones we know so well already.

“In every shining moment of happiness is that drop of poison: the knowledge that pain will come again. Be honest to those you love, show your pain. To suffer is as human as to breathe.”

Surprisingly, the character that I took to the most in the script was Scorpius. I loved that kid. I also loved seeing the development of Draco, and sadly how his life has played out. I’ve always had a soft spot for him, and this story both made, and broke my heart in regards to him.

One of the things that irked me about this story, and quite frankly made me sad, was the relationship between Harry and Albus. I guess it’s just not what I expected their father-son relationship to be like.
Also, I have never really, truly gotten used to the idea of Harry and Ginny. I have no idea why, but their relationship has never quite gelled with me, and that didn’t change by reading this.

What I did love, however, was Ron and Hermione! Oh how those two make my heart swell. It was so great to see how their love, and banter, has carried on throughout the years.

“It is exceptionally lonely, being Draco Malfoy. I will always be suspected. There is no escaping the past.”

My favourite aspect of this book/play, was the scenes when they went back in time and we got to see some of the characters we wouldn’t get to see in present time.
I just loved seeing Snape, and the different side of him, especially his reaction to finding out Harry’s sons middle name Albus Severus. Such a sweet moment.

I also really loved the whole ending/Godrics Hollow scene, as well as all the Voldemort elements woven throughout the story.

Oo, oo, and the Dumbledore scene between him and Harry. Oh my emotions. My heart. Too much…

Although I felt this lacked in a solid plot line, meaning I found the plot to be quite… hmm, plain I guess. Just, that the whole reasoning for going back in timed seemed very pointless to me. But, all-in-all I enjoyed it anyway!

That’s all,

Kate :)

2 comments

Leave a Reply

