Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling: BOOK REVIEW

harry-potter-and-the-deathly-hallows3

THE DETAILS:

Book: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

Authors: J.K. Rowling

Pages: 620

Read: 27th December, 2016

Rating: 5/5 Stars


GOODREADS SUMMARY:

Harry Potter is preparing to leave the Dursleys and Privet Drive for the last time. But the future that awaits him is full of danger, not only for him, but for anyone close to him – and Harry has already lost so much. Only by destroying Voldemort’s remaining Horcruxes can Harry free himself and overcome the Dark Lord’s forces of evil.

In this dramatic conclusion to the Harry Potter series, Harry must leave his most loyal friends behind, and in a final perilous journey find the strength and the will to face his terrifying destiny: a deadly confrontation that is his alone to fight.

These new editions of the classic and internationally bestselling, multi-award-winning series feature instantly pick-up-able new jackets by Jonny Duddle, with huge child appeal, to bring Harry Potter to the next generation of readers. It’s time to PASS THE MAGIC ON …


REVIEW:

Plot: 5/5

Characters: 5/5

Writing: 5/5

“Of course it is happening inside your head, Harry, but why on earth should that mean that it is not real?”

Well, I had written half of this review and it just decided to delete itself, so heres take 2 I guess. It was much more poetic the first time… *fumes*

I usually don’t know where to start with reviews, however this time I feel both like I’ll never be able to start, as much as I feel like I’ll never be able to stop.

I guess I’ll just start by simply saying:

I love Harry Potter.

I would, without a doubt, not be the person I am today without it.
I grew up with the films, and read the books later on in life, which I do not regret, as I believe it allowed me to have full understanding and appreciation for the novels, at this age.

Anyway, this is not a shrine, it’s a review, sooo, here we go.

“Do not pity the dead, Harry. Pity the living, and, above all those who live without love.”

This book was incredible. More so than I ever imagined. I loved it, and it’s going straight to the favourites of all time shelf.

I don’t even really know exactly what to say, all I know is it was amazing from start to finish, but I’ll try to form coherent sentences through my shock that I’ve actually finished reading these now…

Looking back on the novel whilst trying to write this review has made me realise how every chapter is like a mini book. Each named appropriately to it’s contents, which have taken up little places in my mind, as if they’ve been filed into categories.

From the very beginning, when Harry finally departed from the Dursleys, my heart swelled. Rowling could not have written that scene any better. I just feel it was done perfectly to solidify the way in which they and Harry felt about each other, truly, in the end.

“He must have known I'd want to leave you."
 "No, he must have known you would always want to come back.”

I found the entire quest for the horcruxes to be so enthralling. The three friends and their voyage to take down Voldemort, as well as help each other. Especially Hermione and Harry’s time in Godric’s Hollow, that swelled my heart.

The Tale of the Three Brothers. The Deathly Hallows! I have always been fascinated with this, and have never quite fully understood them simply through the film, but reading about it just gave me this whole new insight into the stories and history behind this brilliant idea Rowling had. I absolutely loved this huge aspect of the novel.

Severus! The worldly conflict, the never ending debate on whether or not he was a good man… I have finally made up my mind on whether I love him or hate him, and have decided that I love him. Yep. One of the other millions of favourite moments throughout this book has to be the Pensieve scene, surrounding Snapes memories. Harry’s journey through Snapes mind was so incredibly interesting, and certainly both made and broke my heart. To finally understand why Snape was the way he was, ahh, just, yes.

The Battle of Hogwarts. Do I really need to say more? Wow. The ending, the whole last section was just brilliant. I think it may even be my favourite last part of a book ever. It was executed so well, and tied everything together so well.

“It is a curious thing, Harry, but perhaps those who are best suited to power are those who have never sought it. Those who, like you, have leadership thrust upon them, and take up the mantle because they must, and find to their own surprise that they wear it well.”

Once again, the appreciation for Fred and Georges humour, even in times of sorrow, was one of the many highlights of this entire series. As well as Harry, Hermione and Ron’s friendship. Their friendship, I believe, is one of the most, if not the most, important aspects of the entire series. I am obsessed with them, in-fact all of the relationships Rowling manages to create are so intricate, and really tug on the heart strings.

We got to see the continued relationship between Harry and Dumbledore, which was so nice. I even found myself warming to Kreacher! Oh how unexpected, but lovely.

19 years later…
Ahhh, I could not deal with this part! It was everything. I feel so lucky to have finally been able to read it. Also, to now be able to continue on with The Cursed Child.

Anyway, this is definitely the longest review I have ever done, and I think it’s time to stop.
If you made it this far, thank you for reading, and I hope (I’m sure) you loved this book as much as I did (or are excited to read it).

I’m going to go wipe my tears, watch the Deathly Hallows movies, and fantasise about starting the whole series again… I might just do that. Bye!

Order of favourite to least favourite HP book:
1. Deathly Hallows
2. Half Blood Prince
3. Order of the Phoenix
4. Philosophers Stone
5. Prisoner of Azkaban
6. Goblet of Fire
7. Chamber of Secrets

That’s all,

Kate :)

2 comments

Leave a Reply

