Pretty Baby by Mary Kubica: Book Review

23950

THE DETAILS:

Book: Pretty  Baby

Authors: Mary Kubica

Pages: 370

Read: 4th July 2016

Rating: 3.98/5 Stars


GOODREADS SUMMARY:

She sees the teenage girl on the train platform, standing in the pouring rain, clutching an infant in her arms. She boards a train and is whisked away. But she can’t get the girl out of her head…

Heidi Wood has always been a charitable woman: she works for a nonprofit, takes in stray cats. Still, her husband and daughter are horrified when Heidi returns home one day with a young woman named Willow and her four-month-old baby in tow. Disheveled and apparently homeless, this girl could be a criminal—or worse. But despite her family’s objections, Heidi invites Willow and the baby to take refuge in their home.

Heidi spends the next few days helping Willow get back on her feet, but as clues into Willow’s past begin to surface, Heidi is forced to decide how far she’s willing to go to help a stranger. What starts as an act of kindness quickly spirals into a story far more twisted than anyone could have anticipated.


REVIEW:

Plot: 3.89/5

Characters: 5/5

Writing: 4/5

“Momma used to say, ‘We don’t have much, but at least we have each other.’ And then one day, we didn’t even have that much.”

I have never been more confused about a book, or what to even write in a review.

This novel has me completely dumbstruck on what to think upon finishing it, I mean, I finished it at 2am, it’s now 4pm and I still don’t know what to make of it.

What I do know is that I really enjoyed this book, what I’m not so sure of is the point of it? I don’t know if it was the fact that this book had no real climax, or perhaps in all my crazy theories I managed to guess most of the plot points and so it wasn’t surprising for me.

But was there really a point to it? I mean, was what happened with Heidi meant to be the crazy twist? Because I saw that coming from page 1, oh the confusion. I even searched online and read other reviews to try and see what other people made of the ending.

Anyway, despite all this, I still really enjoyed this book. It held my attention the entire time I was reading it, even if not much actually happened throughout the novel. In terms of plot development, was there even any? I’m not sure, oh no, not going back to the confusion…

Characters:
We really didn’t get closure on any of the characters at all, it simply felt like there was a depressing and abrupt end to every character arc. I kind of like that it didn’t turn out all sunshine and rainbows but I’m left guessing on so many levels.

Zoe: Why, whyyy, why did we not get a deeper look into this girls mind. She is the character that intrigued me perhaps the most, and I felt like there was so much more that could’ve been explored through Zoe, and about her struggles that were so evidently there.

Chris: I really liked this guy, I liked his POV, and just him in general. I loved his character development too, and the way that he kind of found a lot of meaning to his life towards the end.

Heidi: Ummm, yeah, not sure about where to go with this one without spoilers. I always thought she was weird, and definitely predicted her ending, I’ll just say that.

Willow: She and her story interested me, and learning all about her back-story and life was both intriguing and depressing. I don’t particularly like her though, and she kind of falls in the same bucket as Heidi for me. I can appreciate the horrible life she’s had though, oh how that would be just uh no.

Overall Thoughts:
I loved having the different POV chapters throughout the novel, I thought that was a great touch. To be honest, if I was in one of those characters heads for the entire book I would’ve gone crazy.

I saw everything and every character so vividly, and honestly it felt like the book was so short even with the 370 pages, and even though it took me a little while to read.

Although I’m still unsure of the point of this novel, as you may be aware of by now… I really really liked it. It was a great (and slightly strange) psychological thriller that I would recommend if you’re okay with enticing yet *looks up synonyms for confusing* perplexing stories.

I just know this one’s going to stay with me for a very long time, what a ride.

That’s all,

Kate :)

Leave a Reply

