Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix: BOOK REVIEW

9781408855690_309036

THE DETAILS:

Book: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

Authors: J.K. Rowling

Pages: 800

Read: 28th May, 2016

Rating: 5/5 Stars


GOODREADS SUMMARY:

Harry Potter is furious that he is stuck at the Dursleys’ house for the summer, when he suspects that Voldemort is gathering an army, and the wizarding authorities seem unwilling to do anything. Harry’s so-called friends are trying to keep him in the dark. But he knows that Voldemort’s forces can find him wherever he is; he could be attacked at any moment. Harry is finally rescued from Privet Drive by members of the Order of the Phoenix – a secret society first formed years ago to fight Voldemort – and discovers that maybe he is not alone in this battle after all.


REVIEW:

Plot: 5/5

Characters: 5/5

Writing: 5/5

“Things we lose have a way of coming back to us in the end, if not always in the way we expect.”

 

From the moment I started this book, I knew it would end up being my favourite in the Harry Potter series so far, and I was not mistaken. I loved this book so much. It’s definitely going in my favourites of all time list.

This novel took me sooo long to read it, and I mean come on, give me a break, it was 800 pages… However somehow, Rowling made not even one page feel tedious or boring, which is amazing, considering its size.

Perhaps I should’ve written notes whilst reading this, because I can’t remember a lot in detail anymore as I read it over such a long time-span. Therefore, I make no promises about this review being any form of decent. (or in chronological order)

“You care so much you feel as though you will bleed to death with the pain of it.”

Characters:

The characters, I feel, in this book developed so much throughout, and really just left me loving (or hating, *cough* Umbridge *cough*) them even more, which I can’t believe is even possible.

It was so interesting to see into Snapes memories, and that whole scene in my head, rather than on screen. I can’t wait to read more into Snape in the future books, he is such a complex character.

I also loved Dumbledore as much as ever, as well as McGonagall (who was SO sassy in this book), her sass was honestly the best. I found myself cheering her along most of the time.
Harrys friendship circle continues to grow and develop, I love reading how they all interact and protect one other.

Sirius, the whole Order, and the Weasleys, I just loved! Especially at the end when everyone had Harrys back. Ah, love it.

Umbridge, OH, don’t even get me started on her… she was possibly even worse in the book than in the movie, I truly thought that wouldn’t be possible, but *hem hem*, that woman is insane.

“According to Madam Pomfrey, thoughts could leave deeper scars than almost anything else.”

You’ll notice I’m spreading a few quotes out throughout this review, and that’s because I couldn’t simply choose just one to include. If you’re reading them, I’m sure you’d understand why.

Anyway, I noticed whilst reading this that there is so much in the book that is not in the movie! I actually loved that aspect, because it gave me a bit of surprise and apprehension when reading it.

I also found that I got so much more out of the book, than in the movie, which is to be expected, but, having watched the movies countless times, it was amazing to be able to pick up the things I may have missed simply by watching it play out on screen. The whole ‘prophecy’ aspect, what that entailed, the small details, and even just the depths of the characters I found that I understood so much more by reading this.

“We’ve all got both light and dark inside us. What matters is the part we choose to act on. That’s who we really are.”

Basically, I just loved and adored this novel, and it is definitely my favourite in the series so far. I’m so excited to read the last 2, because those are the movies I remember least about, and I even find that I don’t fully understand everything that goes on in Deathly Hallows.

Until next time, Harry.

That’s all,

Kate :)

2 comments

  1. Great Review Kate!
    I have the last two to read now as well, although I read the other books way before Christmas so now i’m unsure whether to just go ahead and read them again or try to read the last two without them fresh in my mind. I mean i’ve seen the movies so I shouldn’t be lost but I dunno… ah!

    I hated Umbridge even more as well which I too didn’t think was possible, I also loved how their was so much that wasn’t included in the films because it was almost like experiencing it for the first time. With all the extra bits you didn’t really know when certain moments would happen 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

