City of Glass by Cassandra Clare: REVIEW

City_of_glass

THE DETAILS:

Book: City of Glass

Author: Cassandra Clare

Pages: 491

Read: 27th March, 2016

Rating: 3.80/5 Stars


GOODREADS SUMMARY:

To save her mother’s life, Clary must travel to the City of Glass, the ancestral home of the Shadowhunters – never mind that entering the city without permission is against the Law, and breaking the Law could mean death. To make things worse, she learns that Jace does not want her there, and Simon has been thrown in prison by the Shadowhunters, who are deeply suspicious of a vampire who can withstand sunlight.

As Clary uncovers more about her family’s past, she finds an ally in mysterious Shadowhunter Sebastian. With Valentine mustering the full force of his power to destroy all Shadowhunters forever, their only chance to defeat him is to fight alongside their eternal enemies. But can Downworlders and Shadowhunters put aside their hatred to work together? While Jace realizes exactly how much he’s willing to risk for Clary, can she harness her newfound powers to help save the Glass City – whatever the cost?


REVIEW:

Plot: 3.5/5

Characters: 4/5

Writing: 3.5/5

I’m already dreading writing this review before I even start because I literally read this for over a month (thanks school), so bare with me if I have trouble remembering things, anyway here we attempt to go…

Let me start off by saying this book was huge, and I feel like it really didn’t need to be. That’s one thing I am not so fond of in Cassie’s books (minus Clockwork Princess), is how massive they are, and the descriptions of things that just aren’t necessary to the story whatsoever, and honestly don’t add anything so much as annoy me. I ended up skimming some descriptive parts because they just didn’t hold my interest at all.

In terms of characters, Clary really annoys me, I just find her to be a little whiny and selfish, but I think that may change as the series progresses. I hope.
Simon is right up there as one of my favs, I adore his snarkiness and he has the best one-liners, apart from Jace and Alec.
I’m sad we didn’t see much of Alec at all throughout this installment, and I hope that changes in book 4 because he really intrigues me.
Also we meet good old Sebastian in this book, and let me tell you, I’m placing all bets right now that that guy is so not dead. Low-key hoping we get to see a little more of him, although I’m still not sure of my feelings for him yet.

I’m so, so glad the brother/sister storyline is over now, it was so long-winded and driving me insane to be honest, because I just knew it was obviously not going to be true.

Although I enjoyed this book, most of the last 200 pages I just wanted it to be over, as I felt not much actually happen (just a hella lot of description, uh) and it was so predictable to me.

I’m really looking forward to reading City of Fallen Angels now, which I have already started and am really liking so far. I hope the series takes a bit of a different turn now that the original ‘trilogy’ part of it is over. I’ll be honest and say although I have enjoyed it, it hasn’t been the best so far for me, but as always I’m holding out hope for the future novels.

That’s all,

Kate 🙂

Leave a Reply

