The 5th Wave: MOVIE REVIEW

first-looks-at-the-5th-wave-trailer-and-movie-poster-image-edited-by-me-602755

I really shouldn’t have left this review to do 2 days after, but I shall do my best…

loved this movie, yep that’s all I’ve got.

No, really. This movie was so good, simply both as a movie and as a book adaptation.

Before going into this movie I didn’t really listen to anyone else’s thoughts because I wanted my opinions to be mine and mine alone, uninfluenced, and I succeeded in that.

At first I was a bit worried because I didn’t think Chloë Grace Moretz was particularly the best choice for Cassie, but from the moment the movie started I knew it was going to be good and my worries about her went out the window. Chloë was a fantastic Cassie, along with Nick Robinson as Ben Parish, and Alex Roe as Evan Walker, I though they all did an amazing job! Also little Zackary Arthur who played Sammy was perfect for the role, literally the cuteness was unbearable.

I read The 5th Wave back in 2014 so it’s been a while, but from what I can remember they hit all the important plot points, and as I was watching the movie all the feels and memories of the book came back, which was so cool to experience. Some of the scenes were honestly SO close to what I saw in my head that it was scary. In my opinion this was an amazing adaptation of an amazing book. The novel was also quite an information dump and hard to understand at first but they executed this in the movie so so well! The film included all the important information and back stories and managed to do it really well, it was so easy to follow whilst still being entertaining!

The only thing that slightly annoyed me was Ringer, because I didn’t quite expect her to be like she was when she first showed up in the movie, however as soon as that first scene of hers was over, she became more like book Ringer and all was good again.

We didn’t get too much of an insight into what life was like at Wonderland, I think that’s what it was called, or the little characters in Ben’s group, but a movie couldn’t possibly go into as much detail as the book did about all that. So that shall be left to the people like us who actually read the book. score. Although I think they could’ve gone into a little more detail about those minor characters, but oh well.

The action in this movie was never-ending, and I never got bored as I sometimes do in movies like this cough, Insurgent, cough. Constantly entertaining and had me on edge, even though I knew most of what was going to happen. The effects and CGI was done so well, it never looked cheesy or fake, and was scarily realistic, like that wave of water going over the city, oh how I would never want that to actually happen.

I really, really hope they get enough funding from this movie to be able to make the second one, because I feel like they could do a better job than that book did, (yes I didn’t really like the second book sadly). So go see this movie guys!! Whether you’ve read the book or not you’d enjoy it i hope!!!

Yeah that’s it,

Kate 🙂

2 thoughts on “The 5th Wave: MOVIE REVIEW

  1. I actually read the book in preparation for the movie, and I absolutely loved it!!! I heard so many negative things about the movie though so I am a little nervous about how it’s going to be 😐 Great review Kate ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

