Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare: REVIEW

CP2_cover

THE DETAILS:

Book: Clockwork Princess, Book 3 in The Infernal Devices trilogy

Author: Cassandra Clare

Pages: 570

Read: 24th January, 2016

Rating: 4.89/5 Stars


GOODREADS SUMMARY:

Tessa Gray should be happy – aren’t all brides happy?
Yet as she prepares for her wedding, a net of shadows begins to tighten around the Shadowhunters of the London Institute.
A new demon appears, one linked by blood and secrecy to Mortmain, the man who plans to use his army of pitiless automatons, the Infernal Devices, to destroy the Shadowhunters. Mortmain needs only one last item to complete his plan. He needs Tessa. And Jem and Will, the boys who lay equal claim to Tessa’s heart, will do anything to save her.


REVIEW:

Plot: 4.5/5

Characters: 5/5

Writing: 4.5/5

This is the first Cassandra Clare book that I’ve read the whole way through without taking a 5 month long break between…success!

I really enjoyed this book! I listened to a few chapters of it on audiobook when I wasn’t able to sit down and physically read, and I loved doing that. The audiobook was narrated by Daniel Sharman teen wolf represent and I feel like he did an amazing job, loved it!

Even though this book was 570 pages long, it didn’t really feel that long, I mean it took me a week to read but it still didn’t feel like the story was compacted into 570 pages.

Cassandra Clare has this unique way of enticing you into her world and gripping you with your full attention, hence why I can’t read her books very quickly. However I feel like I may be becoming more accustomed to her writing because I found this one easier to read than her other books. So that’s exciting considering I have 4 books left in TMI to read…ahh.

The characters in this novel were amazing, I just loved the different personalities and relationships they had with one another. Will and Jem have this incredible bond due to being parabatai, and that really shows throughout this instalment especially due to everything that went on… I found this to be the most important relationship in the series, even not being a romantic one.

I don’t think I’ve ever read a book where I quite loved all the side characters as much as I did this one. Throughout the novel I just grew closer to the characters and really cared for them more than I ever had in the previous instalments. Shoutout to Sophie, Henry, Charlotte, Gideon, Gabriel, Cecily, Jessamine, Magnus (who I now get the hype for) and even Bridget because without them, this series wouldn’t have been as good as it was.

There was so many moments in this book that either made me smile, literally laugh out loud, or make not-for-public-viewing facial expressions…or all at one time. I found this final instalment to be much more action packed, fast paced and fun from the very start than the other two, which I loved! Also, once again Clare provides the most amazing quotes with equal amazing delivery by the characters, which honestly aided in my growing love for the characters. Loved.

I loved the way it wrapped up, though bittersweet I couldn’t have imagined it any other way. I was expecting a-lot worse because of what I’ve heard about everyone crying throughout this whole book, but I’m not really a book-cryer so I was safe.

All-in-all, I really enjoyed this trilogy, it was fun, hilarious, heartbreaking, sweet and emotion-inducing. It’ll be sad to say goodbye to these characters, I can still remember reading the first book so clearly, I’m not quite sure why but these books feel special to me. It was just so beautiful.

Yeah that’s it,

Kate 🙂

4 thoughts on “Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare: REVIEW

Leave a Reply

