Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins – REVIEW

lola-boy-next-door

THE DETAILS:

Book: Lola and the Boy Next Door

Author: Stephanie Perkins

Pages: 338

Read: 10th January, 2016

Rating: 3.89/5 Stars


GOODREADS SUMMARY:

Lola Nolan is a budding costume designer, and for her, the more outrageous, sparkly, and fun the outfit, the better. And everything is pretty perfect in her life (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket, return to the neighborhood. When Cricket, a gifted inventor, steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door.


REVIEW:

Plot: 3/5

Characters: 3/5

Writing: 3.5/5

I have some mixed feelings with this book, although I did quite enjoy it!

For about the first 100 pages I found the writing to be really confusing because it kept switching from past and present tense, but I slowly got used to that when the switches in tense got sparser. However the writing also felt a little choppy to me which was quite annoying at times. Although I do still love Perkins’ writing!

Our protagonist Lola was a very different character, I found her to be a little annoying and irritating throughout most of the first half. However I did grow to like her more towards the end.

Max… should we even go there? Max was an absolute moron, not even sorry for saying that. It was so irritating how through the majority of the book Lola wouldn’t realise her feelings for Cricket as-well as still thinking Max was a good guy, even through every rude thing he did, and how he treated her family/friends. Although I can understand why she’d cling to the relationship.

Cricket, oh Cricket, I didn’t feel as big of a connection to him as perhaps other people did when reading this book, but I still loved him and truthfully, he’s probably the type of guy I’d go for in real life.

The things I did like a-lot about this book were the complexity of the character Calliope (even though I have no idea how to pronounce that…), the sort of-ish redemption of Norah/the semi-relationship her and Lola got to build. I also loved the inclusion of Anna and St. Clair, I thought that was so clever and fun to get an insight into what their lives are like now.

So overall, I didn’t enjoy this book as much as Anna, but I feel like Lola could’ve been even better if the book/relationship wasn’t based on events of the past, which made it quite hard to view the relationship as it must’ve felt between the characters who had all this history together, and to readers it just felt a little rushed to me, but that’s just my opinion. I hope all that made sense…

Yeah that’s it,

Kate 🙂

Leave a Reply

