Twilight by Stephenie Meyer: REVIEW

twilight-meyer

THE DETAILS:

Book: Twilight

Author: Stephenie Meyer

Pages: 498

Read: November 24th, 2015

Rating: 3/5 Stars


GOODREADS SUMMARY:

About three things I was absolutely positive.

First, Edward was a vampire.

Second, there was a part of him—and I didn’t know how dominant that part might be—that thirsted for my blood.

And third, I was unconditionally and irrevocably in love with him.

In the first book of the Twilight Saga, internationally bestselling author Stephenie Meyer introduces Bella Swan and Edward Cullen, a pair of star-crossed lovers whose forbidden relationship ripens against the backdrop of small-town suspicion and a mysterious coven of vampires. This is a love story with bite.


REVIEW:

Plot: 3/5

Characters: 3/5

Writing: 3/5

I feel like I don’t really have much to say that hasn’t been said before because we all know how popular this book is for so many various reasons, and with attitudes ranging from pure obsessive love, to pure hatred.

But, nevertheless, every opinion is different, so here’s mine…

When I first started Twilight I thought wow, Bella is so different to ‘Movie Bella’, but as the book progressed I found Kristen Stewart to be more like the Bella that became throughout the novel (if that made any sense). I also really enjoyed Jacob’s character, I found him to be a-lot more relatable/realistic than Bella and Edward, I’m excited to read more of him in the future.

I definitely enjoyed this book, but I found it lagged a bit throughout some parts, but maybe that’s just because I had exams and was only able to read a very minimal amount of pages a day and sometimes none at all. life.

The one thing that did annoy me greatly about this book that I had a hard time looking past was how ridiculously fast Bella and Edward fell ‘so’ in-love… there was no build up whatsoever it was literally like “oh okay, I love you, you’re the most important thing in my life now.”

Another kind of irritating, but hilarious, thing was Bella’s reaction to Edward being a vampire. I literally had to go back and read some of it again because I actually missed her recognition of him being a freaking supernatural creature. Hello Bella, that’s not normal incase you weren’t aware??

All-in-all though Twilight was an entertaining read, and I did enjoy it. The question is, am I team Edward or team Jacob? I never fully solidified my answer to that even with the movies, so I’m hoping with the books, I’ll finally decide once and for all.

Yeah that’s it,

Kate 🙂

2 comments

Leave a Reply

