The Hunger Games Mockingjay Part 2: REVIEW

This is something a little different to see on my blog, but I just have so many feelings about this movie that I have to share…

tumblr_ny5fee1ZB91rab1gao1_500.jpgI saw the midnight premiere of the movie the day it came out (after almost missing it because I thought it was the next day), and absolutely loved it. When I first walked out of the movie I was a little confused as to what I thought, and overcome with all the emotions (there was alot guys) but after some thinking, I know I loved it! So, here’s all my feels-filled thoughts:

First of all I have to mention how incredible the acting was in this movie, especially by Josh and Jen. Can I just say that Josh has been my ‘celeb crush’ since the his ‘Bridge to Terabithia’ days, and I always knew he was amazing because he’s proved it countless times, but this movie, just wow, I was so blown away by the amount of emotion both him and Jen were able to portray into these characters. Without them, along with Liam, Jenna Malone, Elizabeth Banks, and Woody Harrelson, the movies wouldn’t have been as huge as they have become. Honestly though, Josh and Jen put on one of the finest performances I have ever seen in a film.

Okay, now lets talk about some specific scenes here. The scene where they’re running from the wave of black gooey stuff:

black scene.gif

I loved this scene because I feel as if it’s where the movie really kicked off and started to get super intense. It really just set the tone for the rest of the movie, and OH I just remembered, the little part right before the goo attacked them when Peeta was rocking against the wall crying and muttering, oh my gosh, that killed me. I love you Peeta/Josh.

Next we have the Mutt scene, probably the most intense thing you’ll ever watch in your life. When the Mutt popped up on the screen, there was a collective gasp in the cinema, and I’m pretty sure everyone jumped 5 seats across. I was not expecting the Mutt’s to look so zombie-ish (to be honest, I thought they were dogs), but wow was it effective. I basically held my breath the entire time, it was so well done, and heart wrenching by the end of it (if you know what I mean). Also right after it when this happened…

-Mockingjay-pt-2-trailer-the-hunger-games-38686326-500-300.gif

and this…

tumblr_ny53y9Ay941uivbufo1_500.gif

I died a little, okay alot.

When Katniss and Gale were dressed up and walking with everyone into the Capitol, the was so well done, and gave such a brilliant atmosphere. The parachutes coming down, everything thinking it was a good thing, and then boom, that was also great. We aren’t gonna talk about what happened after that…Although it did feel a bit rushed due to it cutting straight to Katniss in hospital after it, I would’ve liked to have seen a little longer of a reaction when ‘it’ happened.

tumblr_nxwb3aHcWH1stwhs2o1_400.png

The moment this entire series was leading up to, the death of President Snow (as-well as Coin, I couldn’t stand her), felt a tiny bit rushed but was still fantastic. I feel like it’ll make more sense the second time I see it.

Katniss+walks+gif.gif

The scene where Katniss was yelling at Buttercup, and throwing things at the poor little cat, was freaking spectacular, J-Law brought the ugly cry, raw emotion into that, with literally everything she had, and it had me bawling. Just absolutely brilliant, I can’t praise that enough.

The ending scene before the epilogue where Katniss climbs into bed with Peeta absolutely tore my heart out, it was the moment I realised the franchise was over, and so to was a big part of our lives for the past 4 years.

” You love me, real or not real?

Real.”

That was my favourite part of the entire movie.

The epilogue was so cute, and the way Peeta and his child were playing, arghhh, just so sweet. Everything my babies went through led them to this moment.

epilogue.jpg

A couple of little thoughts: The Effie and Haymitch kiss, oh my, I loved that whole scene where Effie was saying goodbye to Katniss and Haymitch. All the feels. Also, Jenna Malone was such a great Johanna, and really brought that character to life! Oh, oh, and Sam Claflin, thank you for a perfect Finnick and his sugar cubes.

I guess that’s it, I’m going to be seeing the movie again next week so I may add some things to this post, but all-in-all I loved the movie so much and they will forever live on in my heart. In all of ours.

Yeah that’s it,

Kate 🙂

 

5 comments

  1. Hi!! I saw the movie last night and i totally agree with you about. having so many feels!!! I was crying a lot during the movie and was on the edge of my seat a lot too. I feel that it was such a good way to end the series. The acting i agree with you was incredible! I dont think no one else could’ve pulled off a Katniss better then Jennifer Lawrence; She slayed with her acting skills. All in all it was just bloody fantastic and i want to see it again. It just had everything from action to drama to romance; it was perfect and i love it so much. im really going to miss this franchise and i agree with everything you said. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

