Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson: REVIEW

18189606

THE DETAILS:

Book: Since You’ve Been Gone

Author: Morgan Matson

Published: Simon & Schuster

Pages: 449

Read: February 27th, 2015

Rating: 5/5 Stars


GOODREADS SUMMARY:

It was Sloane who yanked Emily out of her shell and made life 100% interesting. But right before what should have been the most epic summer, Sloane just…disappears. All she leaves behind is a to-do list.

On it, thirteen Sloane-inspired tasks that Emily would normally never try. But what if they could bring her best friend back?

Apple picking at night? Okay, easy enough.

Dance until dawn? Sure. Why not?

Kiss a stranger? Um…

Emily now has this unexpected summer, and the help of Frank Porter (totally unexpected), to check things off Sloane’s list. Who knows what she’ll find?

Go skinny-dipping? Wait…what?


REVIEW:

Plot: 5/5

Characters: 4/5

Writing: 5/5

At first I was a bit apprehensive about this book, probably because of its length and the amount of hype its received, but wow, a book has never lived up more to the hype, as well as exceeding my expectations. It was everything I wanted it to be, yet nothing I expected it to be and so much more.
In other words, I cannot express my love for this book enough.

This novel was unlike any contemporary I’ve read before. It was the perfect blend of all the best aspects that a book can give.

The characters were amazing, the plot was one of the best I’ve ever read, so unique, the setting was just so vivid that I found myself completely lost in the book and shutting out everything going on around me, this is how you know you love a book.

The whole plot of Emily’s journey and her character development was written so exceptionally, the romance was such a joy to read. Seriously, someone find me a Frank Porter.

This is definitely a book that’s going on my favourites shelf, and will not be forgotten for a very long time, it has made a print on my little reading soul. It taught me so much about life and about who I should strive to be as a person. It showed me what real relationships should be like, it provided the most beautiful insight into friendship, and all things to do with becoming who you are.

This will most definitely not be my last Morgan Matson book, her writing is amazingWhy has it taken me so long to pick up one of her books?

All-in-all, this book was incredible and I’d recommend it to anyone and everyone. Please do yourself a favour and read it.
It’s honestly changed me for the better

Yeah that’s it,

Kate 🙂

4 thoughts on “Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson: REVIEW

Leave a Reply

