Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell: REVIEW

THE DETAILS:

Book: Fangirl

Author: Rainbow Rowell

Published: Pan Macmillan

Pages: 461

Read: October 29th, 2015

Rating: 4/5 Stars


GOODREADS SUMMARY:

Cath and Wren are identical twins, and until recently they did absolutely everything together. Now they’re off to university and Wren’s decided she doesn’t want to be one half of a pair any more – she wants to dance, meet boys, go to parties and let loose. It’s not so easy for Cath. She’s horribly shy and has always buried herself in the fan fiction she writes, where she always knows exactly what to say and can write a romance far more intense than anything she’s experienced in real life.

Now Cath has to decide whether she’s ready to open her heart to new people and new experiences, and she’s realizing that there’s more to learn about love than she ever thought possible …

A tale of fanfiction, family, and first love


REVIEW:

Plot: 4/5

Characters: 4/5

Writing: 5/5

“In new situations, all the trickiest rules are the ones nobody bothers to explain to you. (And the ones you can’t Google.)”

First of all, let me say how well-developed and interesting these characters were. Much like the setting and atmosphere of this book, in which I found so easy to keep up with and visualise. It’s always great when visualising a book is both simple and intricate at the same time.

The story was so unique and fun to absorb, I often found myself getting lost in the novel and being able to block out everything around me. Which is what I want the absolute most when reading a book.

I personally didn’t read the Simon Snow parts in the book don’t kill me, but I kind-of got the gist of what was going on there. I just didn’t really want to waste time reading them when I already feel like this book took me forever to read.

Although I didn’t read her fan-fiction, I loved that aspect of Cath, and being a fangirl myself, I really enjoyed the fact that even though she was slightly socially awkward, she never felt as if she had to hide her fangirl side. I loved that.

 Be who you want to be my loves.

I loved the relationship between Levi and Cath, and I don’t think I’ve ever read a relationship that was written so realistically and naturally. Think the complete and utter opposite of insta-love, and that’s what this was. I commend Rowell on her ability to write such a relationship.

Overall, this book was fun and quirky, but I feel lacked a little in plot development, thus the 4 stars. I also feel a little like things weren’t entirely wrapped up, and there were so many directions and opportunities that weren’t taken, but that’s just me. Still, I’d definitely recommend it to all the fangirls/boys out there!

Yeah that’s it,

Kate 🙂

4 thoughts on “Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell: REVIEW

  1. I completely agree on the relationship in this book. I loved this book and finished it in one day *oops*. I can’t wait to read anything else from Rainbow Rowell 🙂 Nice review!
    Aubrey Joy

    Like

Leave a Reply

