Sweet Peril by Wendy Higgins: REVIEW

15768191

THE DETAILS:

Book: Sweet Peril, book two in the Sweet Trilogy

Author: Wendy Higgins

Published: HarperTeen

Pages: 371

Read: September 16th, 2015

Rating: 3.75/5 Stars


GOODREADS SUMMARY:

Anna Whitt, the daughter of a guardian angel and a demon, promised herself she’d never do the work of her father—polluting souls. She’d been naive to make such a vow. She’d been naive about a lot of things.

Haunted by demon whisperers, Anna does whatever she can to survive, even if it means embracing her dark side and earning an unwanted reputation as her school’s party girl. Her life has never looked more bleak. And all the while there’s Kaidan Rowe, son of the Duke of Lust, plaguing her heart and mind.

When an unexpected lost message from the angels surfaces, Anna finds herself traveling the globe with Kopano, son of Wrath, in an attempt to gain support of fellow Nephilim and give them hope for the first time. It soon becomes clear that whatever freedoms Anna and the rest of the Neph are hoping to win will not be gained without a fight. Until then, Anna and Kaidan must put aside the issues between them, overcome the steamiest of temptations yet, and face the ultimate question: is loving someone worth risking their life?


REVIEW:

So, I feel like not a lot happened in this book, yet I still enjoyed it. The whole travel aspect was really fun, especially when they came to Australia, where I live. I don’t think I’ve ever read a book set here before!

Throughout the first half of the novel, Kaidan (aka, bae) was absent cries, although I did enjoy that this book took a turn and focused more on the deeper meaning of the story and the paranormal aspects.

However, the repetition of the whole ‘Anna and Kaidan being bad for eachother, and therefore cannot be together’ really annoyed me after a while, because it was sooo obvious that they were completely 100 times better together than they were miserably apart… If that’s a slow burning romance, I’m kinda glad we have that ‘insta-love’ cliche, *phew, wipes brow*.

Overall, I did enjoy this instalment in the trilogy, despite the lack of events, the last 40 or so pages finally started to show something happening, so I have high hopes for book 3, the final one!

Yeah that’s it,

Kate 🙂

 

2 comments

  1. I felt the same exact way! I like Anna and Kaidan a lot together, but when they’re apart and moping it grates on me! Who cares if Kaidan isn’t “good enough”? Obviously they’re both miserable! I just finished the trilogy last month and the conclusion novel was my favorite out of the three! If only my library had a copy of Sweet Temptation! Great review 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

