The Perfectionists by Sara Shepard: REVIEW

perfectionists

THE DETAILS:

Book: The Perfectionists, book 1 in The Perfectionists duo-logy

Author: Sara Shepard

Published: Hot Key Books, October 2nd 2014

Pages: 267

Read: June 28th-29th, 2015

Rating: 4/5 Stars


goodreads summary:

In Beacon Heights High, Nolan Hotchkiss is king. His charm, wealth and good looks are deceptively seductive, and many are the students whose lives and reputations have been ruined by it. All while Nolan continues to reign, unquestioned and undisrupted. Until now, that is.

Mackenzie, Ava, Julie, Caitlin and Parker seemingly don’t have much in common. Each has their own friends, dramas and goals. But one thing they do share: they all have a deep hatred of Nolan Hotchkiss. And they all think it’s about time he paid for what he’s done.

They come up with the perfect murder – a hypothetical murder, of course. It’s all wishful thinking … until they wake up one morning to find that their wish has come true. Nolan has been killed – in exactly the way they planned. The thing is, they didn’t do it. So who did?


Review:

As I expected, I really enjoyed this book, of course it’s Sara Shepard, how could I not?

My thoughts on each of the main characters: 

Parker: she was a really interesting and in-depth character to read about, who was just so complex. I can’t wait to find out more about her in the next book. I predicted what was going to happen in regards to her relationship plot line, but I still enjoyed it nonetheless.

Mackenzie: I loved Mac, she was so fun to read about. She’s the musical character, and her story with her so-called ‘friend’ Claire, and her boyfriend was really intriguing, and I’m excited to see how that is all handled in the next book.

Ava: I also loved Ava, I feel like she played the biggest role in relation to the main ‘suspect’ in this novel, and I love her relationship with Alex.

Julie: she was great, I really enjoyed reading about her ‘secret’ relating to her home life, and how she was always there for her friends.

Caitlin: I really loved Caitlin, her relationship plot line was the most interesting to read about out of all the girls, and I’m so excited to see where that goes in the next book. I’m also interested to see how her whole ‘soccer’ situation plays out.

This book was quite short, so there’s not a lot to say, but I really, really enjoyed it and can’t wait to pick up the second and final instalment.
I really enjoyed all the characters, and despite the huge amount of characters in this book, it didn’t take me very long to decipher them from one another.

I’m so intrigued and eager to find out who the killer is… Have to wait not so patiently for the second book to come in the mail…

I recommended to:

Anyone who’s a fan of Sara Shepard’s writing, anyone who’s not, if you love mystery and suspense, fans of Pretty Little Liars.

 

Yeah that’s it,

Kate 🙂

3 comments

  1. Haha I get it, the first half of the book isn’t quite as ‘upbeat’ as the previous book, but I guarantee you that you will be downright SHOCKED by the end. My friend even cried a little. I hope you enjoy it 😀 (oh and I also reviewed both books on my blog if you’d like to check it out)

    Like

Leave a Reply

