Vicious by Sara Shepard: REVIEW

PLL16_HC_500px

THE DETAILS:

Book: Vicious, book #16 in the Pretty Little Liars series

Author: Sara Shepard

Published: HarperTeen, December 2nd 2014

Pages: 336

Read: June 27th-28th, 2015

Rating: 3.5/5 Stars


REVIEW:

Oh my gosh, it’s over… how bittersweet!
I can’t believe this series is over, after 16 books (I don’t think i’ll ever read a series bigger than this in my whole life) haha
It’s honestly so strange to be sitting here writing my last ever review for the PLL books, unless more are added of course. We all know what Sara Shepard is capable of, hahaha, but really, I don’t think I’d be opposed to more books…

Let’s get into the real stuff:
This book was a lot less creepy and suspenseful than all the others, which kind of sucked, but oh well.
I feel like this book wasn’t quite as good as it could’ve been, yet I still really enjoyed it nonetheless. It was definitely not the bets book in the series, but just because it’s the last, I guess I automatically had semi-high kind of expectations, especially since the final book in Sara Shepard other series, The Lying Game was so amazing.

The ‘ending’ to do with Hanna and Mike was the sweetest thing ever, and I’m so happy that it was incorporated into the novel, as these two have been my favourite couple throughout the entire series.

I loved how all the character arcs were wrapped up in the end, they all left me with a big smile on my face, and I’m so happy for the girls, and that they can now move on with their lives.

Overall thoughts on the Pretty Little Liars:
Spencer: For me, Spence was one of my favourites out of the liars, if not my favourite throughout the first half of the series, up until I started to lose interest in her story, as it became increasingly less interesting throughout the course of the series. I’m so happy that she and Melissa turned out to be so close towards the end. The only thing I’m a little iffy on is who Spencer ended up with, I don’t actually remember if I liked him or not, seeing as he’s been absent from the series since the early books.

Emily: Oh Em, she was my least favourite character for so long, up until the second half-ish of the series, when she just went through some incredible character development. She became so interesting to read about, and I actually found myself wanting more and more of her chapters. I’m so sad that she didn’t end up with a certain person, not that she could, because I loved them together so much. However, I love how her story wrapped up, she become so strong, and totally shut down Ali, whenever she tried to torture her about Em’s ‘love’ for her.

Aria: She is a character that I found not to have much change throughout the series, and I enjoyed her stories throughout pretty much the whole series. I’m so happy with who she ended up with, even through all their difficulties.

Hanna: Ahh, she is my favourite character. I love Hanna so much, and will miss her the most. I’m SO happy that her story ended the way it did, I couldn’t have asked for anything better. Hanna constantly had the most interesting storylines, and kept me on my toes all the time. I just love Hanna’s character!

Alison: is just so different from the TV-show, and I really have no sympathy for her whatsoever in the books…gosh, she’s horrible. I’m glad she got what was coming for her, and I would love to see another book about Ali sometime in the future, as I loved the Ali’s Little Lies prequel novel.

This was a satisfying ending to this amazing series, however I do feel like it was left a little open-ended, even though it was sworn to be the last book in the series.

I’ll miss these characters, and these books so much, and this series will forever hold a special, very large the side of 16 booksplace in my heart… Thank you, Ms Shepard, for another incredible series, I can’t thank you enough…

Order of PLL books from fav to least fav: (roughly)
1. Wanted
2. Crushed
3. Wicked
4. Burned
5. Deadly
6. Toxic
7. Vicious
8. Killer
9. Pretty Little Liars
10. Twisted
11. Unbelievable
12. Ruthless
13. Heartless
14. Flawless
15. Stunning
16. Perfect

Favourite quote:

“Ali didn’t manage to kill us,” she said. “She only made us stronger.”

 

Yeah that’s it,

Kate 🙂

Leave a Reply

